Pathfinder (Wrath of the Righteous)
Transference and Altering Magic Items
This house rule is meant to allow the characters to play around with the magical bonuses of objects they see no reason using, and create new rather more usable items. The idea here is not to make your life easier or to save you gold pieces. The low availability of new objects for purchase or of people to sell them your magical loot is part of the adventure. Making house rules to bypass this component of the adventure is stupid. However, since you asked for at least the possibility, here it is. Please note that Its a risky business dealing with magical objects, and when you do that you might come out empty handed. However, I do think that taking those risks adds to the game itself, and since your characters are already monstrous in a sense, I think you can take the risk if you want to.
The long version of the house rule is below. The short version is here.
Transference of magical properties from one object to another is more complicated and dangerous than creating a new item from scratch, but it may be a cheaper procedure. The more the craftsman plays around with transference on the same items, the more complicated it becomes. For example, transferring a +1 bonus from a +1 shield to a none-magical shield is pretty simple. Transferring a magical ability to a shield that is already magical is a bit more complicated, and transferring a magical ability from a shield to make space for a new and different ability might be hazardous. In mechanical terms, the complications are in extra dice rolls, sometimes with higher DC, and extra cost.
To transfer a magical property, the craftsman must be able to create the same property and must have all the prerequisites for the creation of the final upgraded magical item he is actually making through the transference. For example, if you transfer the flaming ability from a +1 flaming Scimitar to a +2 Heavy Mace, you must be able to create a +2 Flaming Heavy Mace and fulfill all it’s prerequisites.
The craftsman transfers every special ability separately from one object to the other. Enhancement bonuses to weapons, armors and other magical items (“regular” +1, +2, +3) may be transferred each separately or as a block. The cost however is calculated for the entire procedure. Determine the difference between the creation price of the object before and after upgrading. An NPC will take half this amount. A PC may use 1/4 of this amount.
Example: Making a +1 Longsword into a +1 Flaming Longsword will cost 6000gp market price and 3000gp creation cost. Thus, an NPC will take 1500gp to transfer the Flaming ability from another weapon into the Longsword, while a PC can do it for 750gp. Half of the cost (that would have been used by PCs) is in magical ingredients that has to be paid in advance, and are lost even if the transference fails. You can use Talismanic Components as substitute for this half of the cost. In the example above, 375gp would have been paid for magical ingredients in advance.
Transference takes 2 consecutive hours or 4 hours that are not consecutive per a +1 magical bonus or its equivalent in abilities. A craftsman can work on transferences for 8 hours a day.
The Transference Check
You can use Spellcraft or a related craft or profession skills for the check.
The DC is 10 + CL of the upgraded target object + Modifiers
DC Modifiers Table
|Based on target and original items slot used, shape, material, purpose etc. GM discretion||+0 – +15|
|Target object is already a magical object||+ 3 per + 1 bonus already in target object|
|For every +1 worth bonus transferred simultaneously||+ 5|
|Involves Talismanic Components||-1 for every 100gp worth of talismanic components|
|Involves adequate Talismanic components||-3|
|Involves inadequate Talismanic components||+5|
|Target object is intelligent||+5 to +10 and Will save negates|
Results of the Transference Check:
Critical success: The magical essence transfers to the target item, and the item gains a perk.
Success: The magical essence transfers to the target item.
Failure: The magical essence eluded the creator and dissipated. All magic ingredients and talismanic components are lost.
Failure by 5 or more: All magical essences of both items are lost. If an item does not have a magical essence in it, it breaks.
Critical Failure: The old item shatters and loses all magical essence, the new item is cursed.
Discharging Magical Effect
Sometimes a craftsman may want to discharge a magical object from one or more of its magical properties. This is a simple procedure that takes 2 hours per +1 bonus, and costs nothing, unless performed by an NPC, then the price is negotiable (usually costs as casting dispel magic together with the cost of casting related spells to the specific magical ability). The DC is 5 + CL of the discharged property. The procedure can only be practiced by someone with a relevant magical item creation feat and uses the spellcraft skill together with access to the spells used to create the magical property and Dispell magic.
Results of the Discharging Check
Critical success: The magical essence is released and 1d4X50gp worth of Arcane Residue can be stored for later use.
Success: The magical essence is released.
Failure: The magical essence is not released.
Failure by 5 or more: All magical essences of the item release. If the item has only one magical property, it shatters.
Critical Failure: The item becomes cursed